shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View Cart Check Out

Pensacola’s Louis Belisle named SPHL Defenseman of the Year

The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Friday announced that Louis Belisle of the Pensacola Ice Flyers has been selected as the SPHL Defenseman of the Year in a vote of league coaches, general managers and media representatives.
Huntsville’s Nolan Kaiser and Stuart Stefan finished tied for second in the balloting. Belisle led all defensemen in points (50) and goals (18), was second in assists (32) and fifth with a +15 rating. Among all players, Belisle ranked second in shots (202) and tied for third with 11 power play assists. Belisle’s 18 tallies matched the SPHL season record for goals by a defenseman, while his 50 points were fourth-most in league history.
SPHL Defenseman of the Year Award Winners
2016-17 – Louis Belisle, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2015-16 – Brandon Greenside, Peoria Rivermen
2014-15 – Andrew Randazzo, Mississippi RiverKings
2013-14 – Stuart Stefan, Huntsville Havoc
2012-13 – Andrew Smale, Fayetteville FireAntz
2011-12 – Mark Van Vliet, Knoxville Ice Bears
2010-11 – Mark Van Vliet, Knoxville Ice Bears
2009-10 – Steve Weidlich, Mississippi Surge
2008-09 – Kevin Harris, Knoxville Ice Bears
2007-08 – Dan Vandermeer, Richmond Renegades
2006-07 – Brian Goudie, Richmond Renegades
2005-06 – Mike Clarke, Fayetteville FireAntz
2004-05 – Curtis Menzul, Knoxville Ice Bears
The SPHL will announce its Rookie of the Year on Monday.
Photo courtesy Vanessa Johnson/Jurassic Photo